My Generational War

ScottBumgarner2013

I was not drafted nor did I enlist for the Vietnam War when my generation was being called up for just that purpose. This was a senseless war that killed many United States military personnel; because,  someone in Washington deemed it necessary to lose, on purpose.

 

For years, every time I see a movie such as Platoon which I watched tonight, it has always managed to sadden me to tears. Anytime I have seen the Wall on television, it has the same effect on me. I have never understood why it always brings me to tears when I witness these events on television or maybe in a book or publication of such.

 

After watching Platoon again which came out in 1986, I have finally figured out why it saddens me so much. I should have been over there with my generation fighting this war, whether I believed in it or not.

Leave a Reply

